MOON DAYS

Why don’t we practice on Moon Days?

 
It is the tradition in Ashtanga Yoga to rest from asana practice on new and full moon days. The reason being that the sun and the moon have an effect on our subtle energetic states relative to their position to the earth. Consequently, their gravitational forces are combined and thus the effects to the earth and all that live on it are more pronounced during the two opposite forces of the moon, new and full. One definitive effect of this is how the ocean’s tides are more pronounced on these days. Since the planet is made up of 70% water and so is the human body, we can see that there is a subtle effect on the earth and to our bodies and minds. When asana practice is done daily, rest days are important for regeneration; and the extra biweekly ‘moon day’ comes as a welcomed rest.


Moon Days 2019

NEW MOON

Sun, Jan 6
Tue, Feb 5
Wed, Mar 6
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, May 4
Mon, June 3
Wed, July 3
Thur, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 30
Sat, Sept 28
Mon, Oct 28
Wed, Nov 27
Thur, Dec 26

FULL MOON

Mon, Jan 21
Tues, Feb 19
Thur, Mar 21
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, May 19
Mon, June 17
Wed, July 17
Thur, Aug 15
Fri, Sept 13
Mon, Oct 14
Tues, Nov 12
Thur, Dec 12
Sat, Jan 11

CURRENT MOON

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This